10 Best Baby Formulas Reviews of 2018

image not found

Last updated on November 30th, 2018

Breastfeeding is complicated. We don’t always have the opportunity to be perfect, when it comes to our baby’s diet. While we all agree that breast milk is best, there are times when we need to supplement with infant formula. It would be great if breasts would always work properly, have enough of a supply and not feel pain or exhaustion. But that’s not how things are. We need baby formulas because breastfeeding isn’t always an option. Moms are also busy, and money doesn’t grow on trees.

That said, the variety of baby formulas out there make it very confusing, if not frustrating, for a new mom to choose the best one. There are so many different baby formula brands, and each one offers a vast array of information or chemicals, which mean nothing to us, for the most part. So what do we do? The baby is crying and we are at a loss.

Enter Net Parents. Tam-da-da-dum! We’re here, so have no fear. We’ve done the research for you, and we’ve simplified everything into the following top ten list. We’ve looked at all the different baby formula brands, and we’ve found the one with the highest rating. We’ve looked through numerous baby formula reviews, and we coordinated our efforts to match the advice of consumer reports, as well as FDA safety standards. We have your back, because we understand your struggle. We set out and we found the best baby formulas out there, not only by ratings but also by how they will fit you. We are sure you will find at least one product here that will fit your needs perfectly. Moms do enough, and they darn sure deserve a break!

Best Baby Formulas At A Glance

Before we delve into a detailed discussion of how each baby formula differs from another, we wanted to give you a brief overview of the different brands so as to help you compare and fine the best formula for you.

ProductOrganicAge recommendedGMO-freeEasy on the TummySoy or MilkVeganHypoallergenicDHA and ARAOur RatingAmazon RatingPrice
Enfamil PREMIUM Non-GMO Infant FormulaNo0-12monthsYesYesCombination of bothNoNoYes9.9/104.1/5Check Price
Similac Advance Infant FormulaNo0-12 monthsNoNoMilk basedNoNoYes9.8/104.4/5Check Price
Similac pro-sensitive infant formulaNo0-12 monthsYesYesMilk-basedNoNoYes9.8/104.0/5Check Price
Baby’s Only Soy Organic Toddler FormulaYes12 months and olderYesYesSoy, but different optionsYesYesYes9.7/104.3/5Check Price
Enfamil Enspire Infant FormulaNo0-12 monthsYesNoMilkNoNoYes9.8/104.2/5Check Price
Gerber Good Start Gentle Non-GMO Powder Infant FormulaNo0-12 monthsYesYesMilkNoNoYes9.6/104.6/5Check Price
Earth’s Best Organic Infant Powder FormulaYes0-12 monthsYesNoMilkNoNoYes9.4/104.4/5Check Price
Parent’s Choice Premium Powder Formula with IronNo0-12 monthsYesNoMilkNoNoYes9.0/104.5/5Check Price
Similac Pro-Advance Infant FormulaNo0-12 monthsYesYesMilkNoNoYes8.9/104.2/5Check Price
Plum Organics Grow Well Infant FormulaYes0-12 monthsYesNoMilkNoYesYes8.0/103.8/5Check Price
View on Amazon

Enfamil Gentlease is probably the best baby formula out there to this date. While significantly less popular than Similac or Similac pro-sensitive, we think this underdog actually has a lot more to offer. This infant formula is great for nourishing the brains of our little ones, as well as having a wide variety of other nutrients. It seems to be more beneficial for the little ones than the competition. As a Gentlease formula, it is one of the best formulas for gas, and can solve such issues within 24 hours. The combination of inositol and DHA and ARA is great for nourishing brain development. And of course it’s a non-GMO formula, which is becoming increasingly more and more important. Its easy-to-digest protein blend comes from the fact that it is already partially broken down.

The Good

  • Gentlease formula is easy on the stomach, helps with gas and insigestion
  • GMO-free
  • Inositol, DHA and ARA levels are high
  • Many nutrients to help the baby grow
  • Vitamins and minerals for the growing baby
  • Comes highly recommended by pediatricians

The Bad

  • Expensive
  • Hard to dissolve

Expert Tips

  • Available in larger sizes for cheaper

Final Thoughts

Overall a great product. We think it’s great for all babies but it’s the best formula for constipation and gas. With all the nutrients and the added benefits, it’ll so your child a huge favor, while taking away the discomfort. A great purchase, worth the price.

View on Amazon

Similac Formulas are as good as they are popular. This brand has almost become synonymous with baby formula, and for good reasons. With high level of DHA and ARA for the brain, Lutein for the eyes, and Vitamin E for general growth, this is a great infant formula. It’s also been voted number one by mothers, and is the most widely used in hospitals. It’s designed for newborn babies to twelve months, making it a newborn formula. You can then switch to stage 2 of this product which is one of the best infant formulas, designed for ages 6-12 months. In addition, this product is iron-fortified, with is a great addition for that specific age. It is also very close to breastmilk and most newborns won’t have a problem adjusting.

The Good

  • DHA, ARA, Lutein and Vitamins to help with the growth
  • Voted number 1 by mothers
  • Most often used in hospitals
  • Great price
  • Iron-fortified
  • Very close to breastmilk

The Bad

  • Not GMO free
  • May be hard to digest

Expert Tips

  • Comes in both powder and liquid form, and can be purchased in higher quantity for a better price

Final Thoughts

A great baby formula for growth and for taking care of our babies. We also think it’s one of the best formulas for newborn babies, as it is so close to breastmilk. And the price is great as well, so you won’t regret it. But be careful if your child is sensitive.

View on Amazon

If your baby reacts badly to the regular Similac formula, you should give Similac Pro-Sensitive a try. They engineered this baby formula to have 2′-FL Human Milk Oligosaccharide, which is a prebiotic naturally found in breastmilk that helps with building the baby’s immune system. As one of the best baby formulas out there, it’s not only GMO-free, but all its ingredients are specifically chosen so as to help your baby’s digestive system. It’s great for lactose sensitivity, but it’s not a lactose-free formula. It will make a big difference though, if your baby does not react well to the regular Similac formula.

The Good

  • Still contains all The Good nutrients and vitamins as the regular Similac formula
  • 2’-FL Human Milk Oligosaccharide prebiotic to help with the immune system
  • No artificial growth hormones
  • GMO-free
  • Helps with gas and indigestion
  • Good for lactose-sensitivity

The Bad

  • Some still get gassy
  • Doesn’t seal well sometimes after opening

Expert Tips

  • Can be fed like breastmilk, every 2-hours in small portions, to help simulate real breastfeeding.

Final Thoughts

A great product, with a great name, this baby milk powder can do wonders for your child. It has enhanced features so you can rest assured you are giving your baby exactly what they need, even when you can’t breastfeed.

View on Amazon

This is a great toddler formula, made for children with high sensitivity. This Baby’s Only Formula is great since its made from soy. It is a hypoallergenic baby formula that will help your baby feed, even with the most problematic digestion. It’s also a vegan baby formula. It comes in different types, ranging from lactose-free formula, and lacto-relief formula, to a regular dairy, organic formula. We really liked this variety, but the soy baby formula was the reason it’s at the top of the list. It’s completely free of GMO, gluten and corn syrup.

The Good

  • Hypoallergenic, soy-based, dairy-free formula
  • Vegan
  • Different types available
  • Fully organic
  • Gluten and corn syrup free
  • High level of essential fatty acids that are then converted to DHA and ARA

The Bad

  • Pricey
  • May be constipating
  • Brown rice syrup is first ingredient

Expert Tips

  • The Soy is less expensive than the lactose-relief, so try that one first- maybe your baby will enjoy a lactose –free formula.

Final Thoughts

This Baby’s Only organic formula is really a great purchase if your child is struggling or if you are just concerned about what goes into the formula. You can tell the difference between the materials used here and in the other products. There are ways to avoid the constipation it may cause, so give it a try. We highly recommend it.

View on Amazon

Enfamil Enspire is one of the best formulas for breastfed babies. It contains MFGM and Lactoferrin, both of which were found in breast milk, and promote healthy mental and immune development. They have also added a blend of prebiotics that helps sustain the immune system. This baby formula is very close to real breastmilk, and so it will do great as an addition to your breastfeeding routine.

The Good

  • Very close to breastmilk
  • Contains MFGM, Lactoferrin, as well as DHA and choline
  • Prebiotic blend to help the immune system
  • Non-GMO baby formula
  • Highly backed by research

The Bad

  • Quite pricey
  • May make baby gassy

Expert Tips

  • Use this to switch off of breastmilk or just to take with you on the go

Final Thoughts

Enfamil Enspire is a great formula milk for you to try and switch from actual breastmilk. It also contains some great nutrients that will do your baby a lot of good. If you can afford it, definitely get it. It may just be that product that made the difference.

View on Amazon

This Gerber formula is one of the best baby formulas out there for sensitive tummies. We loved it because they specifically designed it to mimic breastmilk, but they also added the ‘gentle’ factor: a blend of small, comfortable proteins that will ease up the gas. It’s indeed one of the best formulas for constipation, as it helps promote soft stools. The other great thing about it is it’s cheaper than the competitors, while still including all the probiotics, DHA and other nutrients needed by your child.

The Good

  • Gentle, comfortable ad small proteins
  • Great price
  • Helps soften stools
  • Non-GMO Formula
  • Contains DHA, prebiotics & probiotics
  • Contains probiotic B. lactis to help digestion

The Bad

  • May cause spitting
  • Clumpy
  • ‘stinky’ gas and feces
  • first ingredient is corn syrup

Expert Tips

  • This product is stage one. You can advance to stages 2 and 3 when you’re ready to help make a better fit of nutrients.

Final Thoughts

This Gerber formula is really great, although it may cause trouble to some. We believe that it is definitely worth trying, as most babies were happy and content with it. A truly well-rounded, fulfilling baby formula.

View on Amazon

Earth’s Best formula is a great product, and is one of the best organic baby formulas out there. What makes it a great organic formula is the lack of artificial flavors, colors or preservatives. It also has no GEI, growth hormones, antibiotics, steroid or potentially dangerous pesticides. It’s really one of those formulas for parents who are concerned about what goes into their baby’s body, and for good reason. There’s no corn syrup added here, and yet they’ve managed to formulate a product that’s very close to breastmilk. Oh, and it’s also Kosher.

The Good

  • Organic
  • No artificial flavors, colors or preservatives
  • No GEI, growth hormones, antibiotics, steroid or pesticides
  • DHA, ARA, lutein and prebiotics
  • Non-GMO formula
  • Kosher

The Bad

  • Might be hard to dissolve
  • Quite pricey
  • Can make baby gassy/constipated

Expert Tips

  • Earth’s Best formulas have different kinds, including soy-based and sensitivity formula

Final Thoughts

We think this product makes a great organic formula, and beats most others out there. After all, when it comes to our babies, we all need to be concerned about what we put in their bodies!

View on Amazon

This Parent’s Choice formula is a great product, especially as it’s clinically proven to support growth and healthy development. With DHA, choline, and other nutrients, we think this will make a great purchase, especially since it’s cheaper than most of the other products on this list.

The Good

  • Clinically proven to support healthy growth
  • Contains DHA, Choline, and other beneficial nutrients
  • Recommended by many pediatricians
  • Cheap

The Bad

  • Foamy and bubbly
  • Inconsistent supply
  • Can make babies gassy and constipated

Expert Tips

  • There are different kinds that may fit your case better, such as the gentle formula

Final Thoughts

Overall, a very decent baby formula. It’s great if you are on a budget, but be careful as it may not be consistently in stock.

View on Amazon

This Similac ready to feed formula is great for on the go, or for those who don’t want to spend time mixing the baby formula. It has all the advantages of the regular formula, including HMO, but without all the hassle. This is usually also given in hospitals. However, it is quite more expensive, and the nipple is supposed to be re-used, which is not as sterile as regular bottle.

The Good

  • Convenient
  • Has all the advantages of regular powder
  • Helps with supplementing or addition for breastfeeding
  • Sterile bottles have a shelf life of 12 years

The Bad

  • One nipple, may cause trouble
  • Can make babies gassy
  • Quite expensive

Expert Tips

  • These come in different varieties, not just the pro-advance, so you can find your fit.

Final Thoughts

Definitely a highly convenient baby formula solution. We think it makes a great product for on-the-go or just for the moments in life when you’re stressed in time. It is significantly more expensive, but if you can afford it, go for it. You won’t regret it.

View on Amazon

Plum Organics formula is a great organic option for concerned parents. Indeed, it’s one of the best organic baby formulas on the market, as they make it with organic milk, from cows feed with organic hey and grain and no synthetic pesticides or fertilizers. They really just went to the source and dealt from there, they have no corn syrup added. It is really expensive, on the other hand, and there are some other oils, like soy oil, that they do add in there.

The Good

  • Organic all the way from the source: the milk is organic
  • fortified with iron and DHA and ARA
  • No corn syrup added

The Bad

  • Questionable methods for extracting DHA and ARA
  • Some oils are added, such as palm oil and soy oil
  • Foams a lot
  • Can cause constipation (due to the palm oil)

Expert Tips

  • You can now try a 12 oz pack for only two dollars! Hurry up!

Final Thoughts

Overall, a good organic infant formula. The milk is organic and that makes it way better than other sources, however, there are still questions regarding the materials use for it to be considered fully the best organic formula out there.

The Bottom Line

When it comes to baby formulas it’s easy to get confused. At Net Parents, we want to help you get a clear grasp on these issues, because we love your babies. That’s why we’ve gone through hundreds of baby formula reviews to get you the right ones. We know that you will find something that works out well for you. We’ve considered both parents of sensitive babies, as well as all sizes of pockets. We’ve placed at the top the ones we believe will work for most parents, and will bring the highest satisfaction.

Related Posts

leave your comment

Copyright © 2018 Digitally Savvy, Inc. All Right Reserved.