10 Best Tricycles for Kids Reviews

image not found

We all know it. Kids these days are glued to their screens. They don’t go outside. They don’t get enough physical exercise. We want to do something about it. We need to do something about it. We need to instill in them the love for the outdoors and athletics from an early age. And what better way is there to do it than through an awesome Tricycle?! Getting a tricycle for a kid can mean the difference between a child with a love for sports, and a child that has been sewn into the couch.

At Net Parents, we care deeply about your child’s health. And that is why we’ve decided to compile a list of our favorite tricycles for kids. We’ve searched the net bottom to top, we looked in every corner, just to make sure you will find the right fit. And rest assured, we’ve made certain these are safe, tried and true. We’ve sifted through the consumer search and numerous customer reviews, as well as coordinating with safety standards, until we’ve found what we believe to be the best tricycles for kids out there.

We’ve gone the extra mile so that you won’t have to. From infants to big kids, experienced to inexperienced, we have one for every child and every budget.

Best Tricycles for Kids At A Glance

Before we go on to our detailed discussion of the different kinds of tricycles for kids, below we’ve compiled a brief overview of our picks for your convenience:

Product WeightDimensionsHarnessParent HandleUV canopyMaterialGrows with childManufacturer Recommended AgeEase of AssemblyOur RatingAmazon RatingPrice
Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike10lb22.2 x 27 x 21 inchesNoNoNoSteel and plastic wheelsAdjustable seat30 months-5 yearsNot Easy8.7/104.5/5Check Price
Fisher-Price Barbie Trike1.1lb24 x 11.2 x 14 inchesNoNoNoPlasticAdjustable seat24 months - 6 yearsEasy8.3/104.5/5Check Price
Radio Flyer 4-in-1 Stroll ‘N Trike16lb31 x 22 x 42 inches3 pointYesYesHigh quality steel and rubber wheels4-in-1 9 months – 5 yearsNot easy9.8/105.0/5Check Price
Fisher-Price Harley-Davidson Tough Trike4lb29.5 x 22.5 x 22 inchesNoNoNoPlasticNo24 months- 6 yearsEasy8.9/104.0/5Check Price
Radio Flyer 474 Big Flyer13lb35.4 x 24.4 x 20.7 inchesNoYesNoChrome, steel, and rubber wheelsAdjustable seat3 – 7 yearsEasy9.5/105.0/5Check Price
Fisher-Price Rock, Roll ’n Ride Trike15lb12.5 x 15.2 x 27.1 inchesNoYesNoPlastic3-in-118 months – 5 yearsEasy9.7/104.5/5Check Price
Little Tikes Giraffe Ride-On2lb22 x 15.5 x 16 inchesNoNoNoPlasticAdjustable seat12 months- 3 yearsEasy8.4/105.0/5Check Price
JOOVY Tricycoo 4.1 Tricycle14.4lb10.3 x 6 x 4.2 inches5-pointYesYesPlastic4-in-110 months -44lbsEasy9.6/104.5/5Check Price
Radio Flyer Deluxe Trike17lb28 x 21.5 x 19 inchesNoYesNoMetal and PlasticAdjustable seat24 months – 5 yearsNot easy9.3/103.5/5Check Price
Razor FlashRider 36017.5lb40 x 24.5 x 25.75 inchesNoNoNoPlastic, steel and rubberNo6 and upEasy9.5/104.5/5Check Price
View on Amazon

This red tricycle isn’t just fun, it’s also sturdy. We love it because it was specifically made to offer convenience and joy. It’s comfortable, and it has wheels that won’t make any noise as your little one is going for a spin. With a covered storage bin, the fun just doesn’t stop, and it is another grow with me trike! We recommend this tricycle for kids above the age of 2. A great purchase for the beginner biker.

 

The Good

  • With quiet wheels that will also keep your floor intact, this is a great kids’ trike
  • There is an adjustable seat on this tricycle that will accommodate a growing child as well as siblings.
  • This red tricycle includes a covered storage container that comes in handy when going for a walk
  • It is sturdy and durable, as it’s made from top quality steel and plastic
  • There are comfortable handles on this baby tricycle for your little one’s little hands

The Bad

  • The assembly process could be a little difficult
  • The trike’s tires are made from plastic, making them a tad less durable than rubber

Expert Tip

It has a little handle at the back, allowing us parents to maneuver the trike when we need to

This tricycle for kids also comes in pink and looks like a great girls’ tricycle.

Final Thoughts

As the Radio Flyer classic tricycle, we deem it a great purchase for the value. Being so sturdy and adjustable, it is a perfect tricycle for a 2-year-old child (or grandchild), and will stay with them for years to come. When it comes to tricycles for kids, this one could literally run over the competition.

View on Amazon

This time, Fisher-Price took a slightly different approach towards children’s tricycles. This one is essentially a 3 in 1 trike. As far as tricycles for kids go, this one had us dropping a jaw. The first stage is a rocking-horse-type model that could then turn into a tricycle with a push handle, that is, the second stage. Eventually, it could be turned into a fully independent kids’ trike. That’s the perfect grow with me trike! For that reason, it came up second on our list, and it’s why we recommend it as the best choice for a baby trike. This 3 in 1 tricycle can remain in your family for five or more years, as it is also very durable. We think it is the best tricycle for a 1-year-old, so if you know anyone whose first birthday is coming up.

 

The Good

  • This girls’ trike makes fun sounds, lights, and the design doubles and triples the fun
  • It is a durable tricycle for kids, with easy-grip handlebars, and slip-resistant pedals
  • It has an adjustable seat with 3 positions and it is easy to assemble this toddler tricycle
  • This tricycle is obviously very pink!

The Bad

  • It does not have a handle for the parents
  • There some complaints about the trike’s seat coming off too easily

Expert Tip

If you don’t like Barbie, don’t worry! The stickers are not a necessity. You can just Bring home a great, pink tricycle for the kid

Final Thoughts

Definitely one of the best tricycles for girls. A plastic tricycle that will remain durable and fun for years. It can’t be pushed nor does it have a handle for the parents, so you should be aware of that. Nonetheless, the amount of fun it will bring your little one is hard to be matched.

View on Amazon

Sometimes, when we are thinking of buying a tricycle for kids, we want it to accommodate all stages of development. We want it to be more than just a bike. It should grow with our child, protect our child. And that’s when we start looking for the Radio Flyer Trike. Although on the pricier spectrum, it has four levels of riding, and is in our opinion the best toddler trike. This 4 in 1 tricycle has four ways to ride: infant, steering, learn-to-ride, and classic. It has an adjustable seat and a secure 3-point harness for the safety of your infant. If that’s not enough, it has a parent pouch and a bucket for those mountains of toys. It can be used as early as 9 months. And of course, it is durable enough to stay with you for many more years.

The Good

  • This 4 in 1 design will stay with you for years, accommodating your every tricycle need
  • This trike also contains great safety features like the 3-point harness and a high back seat
  • On top of that, it has a UV blocking canopy
  • It carries a safety tray with cup holder, and a back trunk
  • A highly durable tricycle for kids, made out of high quality materials, like the steel handle and the rubber wheels
  • Comprises of a pedals to footrest attachment, for when they just want to be pushed

The Bad

  • It may be a little cumbersome to assemble this tricycle bike
  • The push handle may be a little low if you are very tall
  • The wheels do not lock, and some taller kids might not enjoy the footrest

Expert Tip

Take it with you to restaurants: it is easier to bring this 4 in 1 trike than a stroller, and provides you with a great time on the way

Adding an accident protection plan with the purchase of this tricycle is a great idea, considering its quite an investment.

Final Thoughts

This Radio Flyer tricycle 4 in 1 is just a great investment. It made it to the top of our list because it is just so much more than a simple push trike. It guides your little one all along the way, and provides immeasurable fun. The safety of this product is also of high-standard, and we at (website name) care about that more than anything. All in all, this is our pick for the best toddler tricycle, and we believe that you will share great moments with your little one when using it.

View on Amazon

Ok, before we even start, we have to let you know that this Fisher Price tricycle comes with a warning: For cool kids only! This isn’t just a tricycle for kids, this is a bike. A Harley-Davidson, three-wheel bike. It’s a bit on the larger side, but it could be a tricycle for 2-year-old boys (and girls), if they’re tall enough. And, of course, cool enough. It is, in essence, a three-wheel bicycle, but to compensate, the base is wide and stable, and the tires are rugged, with a big, comfy seat. There are easy-grip handlebars and big foot pedals, making this an easy ride. Just get on up, and show ’em the dust.

 

The Good

  • This big tricycle is a super cool ride!
  • It is easy to maneuver this trike because of the big pedal and the stable base
  • The baby trike has durable, rugged tires and easy-grip handlebars
  • It is easy to assemble this three-wheel bicycle

The Bad

  • The seat may not be the most comfortable one
  • The stickers may come off of this kids’ trike
  • There is no adjustable seat on this tricycle for kids

Expert Tip

There’s a secret storage compartment under the seat for all your biking needs

There are other, similar tricycles for kids of all ages and genders by Fisher Price, like a Dora the Explorer themed one

Final Thoughts

One of the coolest bikes we’ve seen out there. Quite easy to ride thanks to the rugged, wide wheels and the big pedals. We think it’s probably the best tricycle for a 2-year-old boy.

View on Amazon

This beautiful red tricycle is a big one. And a big tricycle means it’s big kid tricycle. There comes an age in every child’s life where they just want to ride on. This flyer was made just for that. With its racing design, this red flyer tricycle will actually let your child fly. With a 16” front wheel, extra grip tread, and a low seat, it was designed to keep your child on the road, without slipping, spinning out or tipping over. It also has an adjustable seat, making it a perfect tricycle for a 3-year-old, as they can use it for many more years of extreme fun.

The Good

  • This red flyer tricycle comes in a sleek design, with chrome handlebars
  • This big wheel tricycles has an extra grip tread for extra stability and a low seat to enhance the riding experience
  • There is an adjustable seat to grow with your child and this trike works on all types of terrain
  • The trike is also made from high-quality materials

The Bad

  • There is no basket to store any toys on this tricycle
  • Some kids don’t like it since it requires more effort or they have a hard time peddling
  • The heels may start rubbing off after some time, and might need to be replaced, making this kids’ trike less durable

Expert Tip

There is a little handle at the back for the parents just in case we really like thrill-seeking rides

As a fairly expensive tricycle, one should consider getting the accident protection plan for a pretty cheap price.

Final Thoughts

As far as big wheel trikes go, this one is our favourite. This is a tricycle for kids who like to race. It’s a tricycle for kids who want to get the most fun out the activity. But it’s pretty large, and so we think it’ll be a great tricycle for a 4-year-old, and it will really take the fun to a whole new level.

View on Amazon

This time, Fisher-Price took a slightly different approach towards children’s tricycles. This one is essentially a 3 in 1 trike. As far as tricycles for kids go, this one had us dropping a jaw. The first stage is a rocking-horse-type model that could then turn into a tricycle with a push handle, that is, the second stage. Eventually, it could be turned into a fully independent kids’ trike. That’s the perfect grow with me trike! For that reason, it came up second on our list, and it’s why we recommend it as the best choice for a baby trike. This 3 in 1 tricycle can remain in your family for five or more years, as it is also very durable. We think it is the best tricycle for a 1-year-old, so if you know anyone whose first birthday is coming up.

The Good

  • This trike has a great 3 in 1, creative design and is also highly durable
  • As a 3 in 1 trike, it is easily assembled and easily converted
  • This tricycle has a long handle for pushing
  • It is a great price for the value of this push tricycle

The Bad

  • The trike still requires stirring when in push-mode
  • It is made out of plastic, which means it can be loud on cement

Expert Tip

You don’t need any tools to convert, so feel free to change it up when you feel like it

It’s the perfect tricycle if you need to carry it up the stairs. A little kid can do it by themselves!

Final Thoughts

This innovative design from Fisher Price makes this our second choice for best toddler tricycle. From a rocking toy to a toddler push tricycle, to a fully independent trike, this is a great one. We hope you’re as impressed with it as we are!

View on Amazon

Babies love giraffes. Babies love tricycles. A tricycle for kids in the shape of a giraffe? That’s a no-brainer. This baby tricycle is awesome in its simplicity, and therefore, in its price. With an over-sized back wheel to provide extra stability, it’s a perfect toy for your baby to begin their coordination and balance building. This is a pedal-less trike, built in the foot-to-floor format, and it has a wheel-guard built in for safety. We liked this product for its simplicity and functionality, and Amazon customers agree with us. One of the best tricycles for 1 year olds.

The Good

  • It’s a giraffe! There aren’t much cuter tricycles than that.
  • This trike is easily assembled
  • There is an adjustable seat on this baby trike for growing with your baby
  • It includes an over-sized back wheel for stability

The Bad

  • This baby tricycle is made out of plastic, and although quite durable, may be a bit loud on cement
  • It is pedal-less, and will not fit kids beyond the age of 3

Expert Tip

You can use this little toddler tricycle inside and outside; it works great anywhere you are!

Get the frustration-free packaging option, since it’s the same price for this baby trike, to save you even more of the hassle

Final Thoughts

Overall, a great children’s tricycle. It’s simple and cute, and no child will ever be disappointed. And for that price, there can be no regret. Just don’t expect it to be your kid’s trike forever. Oh, and did we mention it’s a giraffe?!

View on Amazon

It’s not always the best idea to just put our kids on a tricycle and hope they learn how to ride. Even the run-of-the-mill push tricycle may not do the trick. This is where the JOOVY Tricycoo 4 in 1 tricycle comes into play. This grow with me trike is a great investment for a parent who wants to guide their toddler gently into the world of cycling. As one of our best tricycles for kids, it has built-in almost everything you will need to help your little one develop the right amount of balance, coordination, and muscle strength. It is appropriate even for babies as young as 10-months. With safety features built in it, such as the 5-point harness and a UV-filtering canopy, you can rest assured your baby is in good, comfortable hands. In fact, the seat pad is one of the best we’ve seen, as it surrounds your child with padded security. As your toddler grows you can use the push handle alone; with the large front wheel, which can also be locked or unlocked, and a footrest as well as large pedals, the toddler can learn to ride at his or her own pace. Eventually, is can become an independent ride by removing the handle and letting your child pedal away.

The Good

  • This is a 4 in 1 tricycle designed to grow with your child, with an adjustable seat
  • It has a big front wheel that can be locked, with down folding footrest
  • With 5-point harness and a padded seat, including a surrounding arm assist, this tricycle is super safe
  • On top of that, this baby tricycle has a large UV-protecting canopy, Includes a cup holder and a rear ‘trunk’

The Bad

  • It is made from a somewhat cheap material for the cost
  • The wheel guard design on this trike could use some improvement
  • Turning using the push handle isn’t as easy as you will find with other tricycle bikes

Expert Tip

The front wheel locking mechanism will allow the pedals to rotate, but it won’t affect the wheel, letting your baby pretend to push it forward. A great little way to let our little ones learn the feel of the pedals, even if they aren’t strong enough to handle it yet

This 4 in 1 trike comes in both pink and blue

Final Thoughts

All in all, this is a great 4 in 1 trike, and would make a great addition to the family. It’s a great way to teach our kids how to ride, in a gentle, guiding manner. The only downside is the price and the material, which is why we did not choose this as the best tricycle for kids.

View on Amazon

Everyone looks for a different thing in a tricycle for their kid. This Radio Flyer is in our opinion the best push tricycle out there. Instead of adding a footrest, the design of this push trike can make the pedals themselves a footrest. When your kid is ready, the adjustable handle can be removed, allowing for an independent riding experience (it will look like the classic Radio Flyer). The seat is also adjustable, making this a great tricycle for a 2-year-old. The material it is made out of is also sturdy, which means it will last for a long time.

The Good

  • This push tricycle is made of sturdy material makes it a great purchase
  • The pedals on this tricycle with a handle become footrests when pushed
  • There is an adjustable seat and a removable steering handle with this toddler trike
  • This red tricycle comes with a storage bin for all the toy-carrying necessities

The Bad

  • Assembly may be on the more difficult end for this tricycle
  • The steering mechanism may be a little problematic

Expert Tip

The back trunk might look small, but you’d be surprised how much you can fit in there!

Steering this trike is easy but only as long as the child doesn’t stir the other way around.

Final Thoughts

This Radio Flyer push tricycle is indeed a great purchase. It may seem to be on the pricier side, but the material it is made out of, as well as the handle and pedaling design, really compensate for it. Overall, highly recommended as a tricycle for 3-year-olds, but will be great for 2-year-olds as well.

View on Amazon

A really cool tricycle for bigger kids, this one was designed for the ultimate spinning experience. A great big wheel tricycle, which comes with dual inclined caster wheels, and a really cool Spark Bar. The wheels are designed to be great for drifting, and the trike is made from a durable steel frame. It has a great no-flat-tire wheel, that can handle all the spinning, speeding and drifting. We think it will make a great big kid tricycle.

The Good

  • This big wheel tricycles has a great durable steel frame and a high impact, flat-free, big front wheel
  • There are comfortable handles on this trike to make riding easier for the little ones
  • The dual inclined casters are made for drifting and spinning fun
  • This big kids’ tricycle requires only a little easy assembly

The Bad

  • The seat is not adjustable and won’t grow with your child
  • This tricycle is quite pricey

Expert Tip

The sparker cartridge is a great addition to it, and trust me, your child will love it. Be careful of how you attach it as it may fall. And knowing children, they will use it all up in one day. That’s why it’s great that it’s replaceable!

This can be a great addition as a big kids’ tricycle and can actually be fun for 10 and 12 year olds.

Final Thoughts

A great tricycle for kids on the older edge of the spectrum. To fully utilize it, however, we recommend it for 5-year-olds and older. It is not adjustable and won’t grow with your child, so beware. Otherwise, a great, fun, and thrilling ride.

The Bottom Line

We want the best for our kids, and no matter what, we always have to look out for them. At Net Parents, we understand that, and we have done our utmost to bring you the most suitable, safest, and, of course most fun tricycles for kids. We’ve turned all the stones we could find, and we boiled it down to these 10 choices.

The top two tricycles have excelled based on innovation, creativity, safety, ‘fun-ness’, and versatility. That said, all of the items on our top ten list are great. Tricycles are not a one-glove-fits-all matter, and so we’ve delivered a variety of different options for you to choose from. So get on up, put it into gear, and ride on into the sunset!

Related Posts

leave your comment

Copyright © 2019 Net Parents. All Right Reserved.