10 Best Kids Step Stools Reviews of 2018

image not found

Last updated on December 26th, 2018

Time flies by when you have kids. I remember my father always used to say that we can measure how old we get by looking at how our children mature. Nonetheless, there is nothing more beautiful and satisfying than seeing your little one become independent for the first time. Kids’ step stools were made just for that time, when your baby is no longer a baby. They want to do everything by themselves. And you’re left reminiscing about how just a few months ago they couldn’t even stand on their own.

Exciting and emotional as it is, choosing the right kid stool isn’t as simple a job as you might think. There’s a lot that comes into play. Most kid stools aren’t made just for potty training. Although you can definitely find some great potty stools out there, many of them can actually be used to give your child that extra help to gain the independence they so strongly seek. Some stools can be used in the kitchen, helping you and your child bond in so many ways. And there are so, so many different types out there. It’s a choice that is hard to make while your little one is running around you and creating the natural disasters that they are bound to make at that age.

At Net Parents, we want you to forget about having to do the research. We just want you to sit and relax, while we present to you the best children’s stools out there. We went and got our hands dirty, so that you won’t have to. We examined numerous reviews to find the best stools out there, while coordinating with CPSC safety regulations and consumer reports. When it comes to your children, you can feel safe and secure that we’ve got your back. Or in this case, their feet.

10 Best Kids Step Stools At A Glance

Before we delve into a detailed discussion of each one of our toddler stools, we wanted to give you an overview of all of our product. Below you will find some general information about each product, summarized for your comparison convenience.

ProductSizeWeightNon-slipMaterialEase of cleaningMaximum WeightAssembly requiredDual Step for GrowingComfortable step areaFoldingAdd-ons availableErgonomicOur RatingAmazon RatingPrice
Jessica Leona Step Stool14 x 12.7 x 10.3 inches2.2lbsYesPlasticEasy150lbsNoYesYesNoYesYes9.9/104.6/5Check Price
Little Partners Step Stool39 x 24 x 22 inches28lbsNoWoodEasy500lbsYesNo, but big enoughNoNoYesYes9.8/104.7/5Check Price
Cozy Greens Step Stool13.5 x 11.6 x 6.2 inches1.5lbsYesPlasticMediumN/aNoNoYesNoYesYes9.6/104.8/5Check Price
Zohzo Step Stool13.5 x 6.5 x 10.5 inches1.13lbsYesPlasticEasyN/aNoNoYesNoYesYes9.6/104.7/5Check Price
Tenby Living Step Stool15 3/4" (w) x 13 3/4" (d) x 9 1/4" (h)1lbYesPlasticVery Easy220lbsNoYesNoNoNoNo9.2/104.7/5Check Price
Fantasy Fields Step Stool10.6 x 11.8 x 10.6 inches9.19lbNoWoodFairly easyN/aYesYesNoNoNoNo9.0/104.6/5Check Price
Graco Sure Foot Step Stool16 x 11.3 x 5.5 inches1.1lbsYesPlasticEasyN/aNoNoNoNoNoYes9.0/104.6/5Check Price
Bumbo Step Stool11.1 x 15.1 x 6.5 inches1.15lbsYesPlasticEasy110lbsNoNoYesNoYesYes8.9/104.6/5Check Price
Jeronic Step Stool11" (L) x 9" (W) x 11′(H).0.5lbsN/aPlasticEasy300lbsNoNoNoYesNoNo8.8/104.6/5Check Price
BABYBJORN Step Stool9.2 x 13.5 x 6 inches1.41lbsYesPlasticMedium96lbsNoNoYesNoYesNo8.7/104.6/5Check Price
View on Amazon

This is a great toddler step stool, with slick design and great versatility. It is a dual-step stool, which means it is useful for different ages and for different purposes. It can be used as a wonderful potty step stool, or it can let your toddler be a kitchen helper. It’s great for potty training and it can hold up to 150lbs. It is very safe, with slip resistant design on the bottom and comfortable, slip-free top for the feet. It is also light, and with the handle grips it is perfect for toddler independence. They can just lift is whenever they want, and let these steps help guide them through the world!

The Good

  • Non-slip top and bottom, with comfortable surface for the feet
  • Light but sturdy
  • Versatile, dual-step design
  • Stylish, and fits most décor
  • 100% money-back guarantee

The Bad

  • Could be a little taller and wider
  • Slip resistant only covers 90% of the step

Expert Tips

There is an option to purchase two for a cheaper deal

There is a matching toilet seat for potty training

Final Thoughts

Overall, an amazing kids step stool, with a great design and high versatility. The reviews were great, and we believe it will be your child’s guiding tool for independence. Not to mention that the matching toilet seat will make this the best potty step stool.

View on Amazon

This one is the perfect kids’ kitchen stool, designed specifically to let them be your toddler kitchen helper. It is quite expensive, but it is so extremely safe and of high quality, that it is just worth the price. It can be made into more than just your kid’s wooden step stool using the available add-ons, like the Playhouse Kit. And it holds up to 500lbs, which means your child will not outgrow this one.

The Good

  • Great design from high quality wood
  • Holds up to 500lbs
  • Can have cool add-ons
  • Safety railings prevent slipping and injuries
  • Perfect as a toddler kitchen stool

The Bad

  • Openings may be a little bothersome if kids go through them
  • Very expensive
  • May scratch your floors

Expert Tips

Comes in a great variety of colors, to fit your house’s décor

Final Thoughts

A truly amazing toddler kitchen step stool, we think it is a great addition to every house, even with the price in mind. Although it cannot be used as a potty step, it will still save you a great deal of trouble when you are doing anything, and your child can see you and “participate” from this tower.

View on Amazon

With safety’s first kind of attitude, this child stool is a great addition to your home. While it’s not a dual-step, and it won’t be growing with your child, it is helpful for the first years of the baby’s independence. There’s an anti-slip ring that prevents moving and enhances stability, as well as foot pads, that are both comfortable and show the child where they should be stepping. It’s lightweight, sturdy, easy to clean, and it doesn’t look too bad either.

The Good

  • Comfortable non-slip foot pads
  • Non-slip bottom that also helps with stability
  • Lightweight
  • Sturdy
  • Lifetime satisfaction money back guarantee.
  • Cheap

The Bad

  • White color might get dirty
  • May be a tad too short

Expert Tips

Comes in another beige color for the same price.

Final Thoughts

Overall, we think this is the perfect potty training step stool for older kids. It’s a great price for the value, and it’s sturdy, so you may use it through generations. It won’t be very helpful for kids who are still too short, and that is the downside of having a one-step design. Otherwise, it is lightweight, and will help your child build confidence and feel independent.

View on Amazon

Similar in design to #3, this single step kids stool comes highly recommended. As far as kids step stools go, this is a great one to have for both the kitchen and the washroom. We like that it has a curved design to fit around the toiler, and it has a great slip-resistant surface and base. It’s the 6” boost in confidence that your child needs.

The Good

  • Great ergonomic design with a curve to fit the toilet
  • Sturdy
  • Lightweight
  • Non-slip features from top to bottom
  • Unconditional lifetime money back guarantee

The Bad

  • May be too heavy for the child to lift
  • A tad too short

Expert Tips

Get the specially designed toilet seat for potty training in style.

Final Thoughts

A great potty training stool that any house can benefit from. It fits in the kitchen and in the washroom to help gain independence and much-needed life skills. We also think its safety features are impeccable. It may be too heavy for your child to carry, but that also means it’s super sturdy.

View on Amazon

This is an excellent, extra-large, dual-step kids stool. It has a non-slip surface all over, and extra wide rubber grips on the bottom. It also has removable caps for easier cleaning and water draining. Being extra tall, it’ll help smaller children achieve bigger tasks. And it only weighs 1lb! That said, this toddler “helper” stool is very sturdy.

The Good

  • Extra large
  • Non-slip surface
  • Removable clips for cleaning and water draining
  • Dual-step
  • High quality, sturdy, and lightweight

The Bad

  • Rubber can come off, though very rare
  • May be too narrow

Expert Tips

Use these steps for kids to kill two birds with one stone: put two kids on it at once! It’s actually big enough

Final Thoughts

This is a great kids’ step stool. It won’t just be the potty stool you would use, but it’s also great for reaching the sink to wash their hands. It’s a full package. It can definitely serve as a toddler kitchen stool, and we like the versatility of it.

View on Amazon

A really cool and fun children’s wooden step stool. We love how many different variations of it there are. The wood is high-grade, and sturdy, and the paint is lead free, compliant with safety standards. This kids stool is not just there for the kitchen or the washroom, it’s actually great for the bedroom too! It also has a storage compartment under the lid. It is quite expensive however, because it is hand-made.

The Good

  • Hand-drawn, cool, and whimsical designs
  • Sturdy wood of high quality
  • Lead-free paint
  • Storage compartment
  • Easy to clean and non-slip

The Bad

  • Takes up a lot of room
  • Assembly required (although simple)
  • Lid can slam down on little fingers, so be careful
  • Expensive

Expert Tips

This can be the perfect gift for a baby shower, as it is so fun and there are many different designs you can choose from

Final Thoughts

A great kids step stool, it’s fun, and will bring smiles to your children’s faces. It can be used for the bathroom to potty train, and you can store the bath toys in there, or it can stay in the bedroom. However, it is way too heavy for a child to move on their own, so be aware of that.

View on Amazon

This Graco step stool was built with durability in mind. It’s a baby step stool that doesn’t break, because it’s made out of the best materials. With non-slip top and bottom, weighing only 1lb, this is a no-brainer. The fact that is can withstand up to 200lb helps as well. On top of that, it’s also stain resistant, making it a great potty training step.

The Good

  • Highly durable, made from high quality plastic
  • Stain resistant
  • Can support up to 200lbs
  • Non-slip from top to bottom
  • Very cheap

The Bad

  • Might be a tad too short
  • Some floor types may find it a tad bit slippery

Expert Tips

Being pink, it’s a great present for a baby girl!

Final Thoughts

Overall, a great baby stool with little complaints. It does what it says it does, and it helps our children explore the taller world. It’s not so tall, so it’s sometimes not as useful, but it is very sturdy. Enough that even you may be able to use it.

View on Amazon

If you’re on the lookout for the perfect toddler step stool for the sink, then you’re in luck! This Bumbo step stool is made just for that! It’s also great for potty training, as the shape fits just right. It is non-slip from top to bottom, and is sturdy. Yet, it’s lightweight, and has handles for the little hands to be able to carry it.

The Good

  • Great design for reaching the sink and potty training
  • Sturdy
  • Lightweight
  • Slip-resistant
  • Hold up to 110lbs
  • Cheap

The Bad

  • A bit short
  • The bottom might leave black marks

Expert Tips

Use in combination with the Gumbo Toilet Trainer for maximum results

Final Thoughts

Simple, sturdy and cute children’s step stool. It holds up to the weight, and helps with reaching their independence and personal exploration. It is a bit small overall, which may work against it.

View on Amazon

This kids step stool looks a bit different. It is foldable, which makes it really great for smaller apartments. It’s very cheap and extremely sturdy. In fact, it can hold an adult weighing 300lbs. So this is not just a kid’s stool, but an adult’s too!

The Good

  • Foldable
  • Very sturdy, holds up to 300lbs
  • High quality plastic
  • Handle to carry it around

The Bad

  • Can fold on you if you push from it at a certain angle
  • Can pinch the skin on the hinges
  • Doesn’t seem to be non-slip

Expert Tips

It comes in different colors, some of which are a different price.

Final Thoughts

It’s a nice kids step stool but it’s a great adult stool. It will hit a few birds in one shot. It is foldable, which is both its strength and its flaw: it might fold on you at the wrong time, or pinch your skin. Nonetheless, this is highly recommended for small apartment, and the complaints were few and far between.

View on Amazon

A simple Baby Bjorn step stool, with a non-slip surface on top that will do its job even with wet feet. It’s non-slip from top to bottom, and the design is minimalistic and cute. It’s easy to keep clean and it rinses off easily. It is also lightweight, and is designed to be a great potty step stool.

The Good

  • Nice design, attractive to both kids and adults
  • A great non-slip surface and bottom
  • Lightweight
  • Easy to clean
  • Durable

The Bad

  • Not stain-resistant- get it in grey, and use some elbow grease
  • Quite short and narrow
  • May be slippery on some floors

Expert Tips

It comes in different colors, and Baby Bjorn has many other products that can help you potty train in combination with this one.

Final Thoughts

A simple kids’ step stool, with non-slip features and a slick design. It could be a great addition to the family when the children start exploring and begin toilet training. It may be a bit too small, and it’s slightly more expensive than the other products. Nevertheless, we highly recommend this potty training step.

The Bottom Line

We love how curious children get at around the age of two or three. They just want to explore the whole wide world, find every crevice, and examine every grain of sand. It’s really beautiful. To help them do that, we need to provide them with some basic tools, like a kid’s step stool. Here at Net Parents, we did our research, we’ve scoured through hundreds of reviews, and we found the best stools to fit your particular situation and needs. We are sure you will be satisfied with at least one of these stools. It’s time to go exploring!

Related Posts

leave your comment

Copyright © 2018 Digitally Savvy, Inc. All Right Reserved.